The Amazing Mirvana

Travels, and makes stuff.

Iron Chef Mirv: Bizarre Carbonara

I don’t cook much any more, but I do enjoy it, and lately I’ve made some impromtu noodle dishes inspired by the wonderful array of noodles available in the bulk foods section of the East End Coop. So last night, I threw this together:

1 lb. of brown rice fettucine

While that boiled, in large skillet, I added the following, in order, to saute:

1 T. Olive oil
1 diced onion
1 heaping t. minced garlic
1 handful of sundried tomatoes, soaked and chopped, plus some of the soaking water
about 1/2 lb. leftover cooked breakfast sausage, crumbled
1 diced green tomato
2 oz. feta cheese, crumbled
1 t. crushed red pepper
pepper to taste (the sausage added enough salt)

I added some fresh broccoli florrets to the boiling noodles long enough to cook tender-crisp, then drained and added broccoli and noodles to the skillet, and tossed everything together. The end result reminded me a little of carbonara, but it was something different. The breakfast sausage was a bit much. I could have backed down on that some. The green tomato added a wonderful sweet and sour punctuation, and I like how they stayed firm, whereas red tomato would get squooshy. It could have used more olive oil, but I was not willing to add those calories.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

